You are here


Dr. Hanna Cho (Principal Investigator) [CV]

Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Postdoctroal Research Associate (2013), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Prof. King's group)
Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (2012)
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea (2004)
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea (2002)

Sajith Dharmasena [CV]

Post Doctoral Researcher, Mechanical Engineering

Ph.D. Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University (2019)
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Texas Tech University (2014)


Graduate Students

Jinha Kwon [CV]

Ph.D. Student, Mechanical Engineering

M.S. Mechanical Design and Mechatronics, Hanyang University (Seoul, Republic of Korea) (2011)
B.S. Engineering, Hanyang University (Ansan, Republic of Korea)(2008)

Jinha's research will utilize the advanced AFM capability for various applications, including studying bone mechanics, bacteriophage, and lithium battery electrodes.

Jun Yu [CV]

Ph.D. Student, Mechanical Engineering

M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Columbia University (2017)
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology, China (2015)

Jun's research is focused on the experimental and theoretical study of nonlinear dynamics in Micro-Electro-Mechanical resonators.

Jian Liu [CV]

Ph.D. Student, Mechanical Engineering

Jian will focus on using AFM methods to study the dendrite growth of lithium battery and nucleation of corrosion in metals.


Jun Wei Yap

Ph.D. Student, Mechanical Engineering

Jun Wei will be studying the behavior of ionic battery cells during different phases using AFM.

Michael Lee

Master's Student, Mechanical Engineering

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University (2019)

Michael plans to develop methods to allow AFM to characterize the adhesive forces present in the binder of ionic battery cells.

Linfeng Xue

Master's Student, Mechanical Engineering

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Cincinnati (2018)
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, Chongqing University (2018)

Linfeng’s research is focused on the analytical study of intermodal coupling, modal interaction and modal energy transfer in non-linear systems.


Sajith Dharmasena: PhD Alumni (August 2019)

Dissertation: A Multi-Channel Micromechanical Cantilever for Advanced Multi-Modal Atomic Force Microscopy

Keivan Asadi: PhD Alumni (August 2019)

Dissertation: Experimental, Theoretical, and Numerical Study of Nonlinear Resonances in Non-prismatic Micromechanical Resonators

Rahul Reddi: MS Alumni (May 2018)

Thesis: In-situ Characterization of Lithium Ion Batteries using Atomic Force Microscopy (2018)

Emmanuel Babayemi: MS Alumni (May 2018)

Thesis: Experimental Characterization of Geometrically Nonlinear Microresonators (2018)

Chris Pettit: MS Alumni (Dec 2014)

Thesis: Multi-Harmonic Atomic Force Microscopy with Microcantilever Incorporating Intentional Internal Resonance

Jun Wei Yap: BS Alumni (Dec 2019)

Thesis: Development Of In-Situ Electrochemical Cell To Characterize Lithium Dendrite Formation With Atomic Force Microscopy

Corban Joyce: BS Alumni (Dec 2019)

Thesis: Investigation of Metal Corrosion by In-Situ Electrochemical Force Microscopy

Eric Pham: BS Alumni (Dec 2019)

Thesis: Finite Element Analysis ofNonlinear Micro-Mechanical Resonators Exhibiting Internal Resonance

Ran Zhuang: BS Alumni (Dec 2019)

Thesis: Nanomechanical characterization ofbone quality depending on tissue age via advanced bi-modal Atomic Force Microscopy

Somang Kim: BS Alumni (Dec 2019)

Thesis: Determination of Parameters to Induce Self-Assembly of Collagen for Characterizing Piezoelectric Property of Collagen Fibers

Lichen Ye: BS Alumni (May 2019)

Zhengyang Du: BS Alumni (May 2018)

Thesis: Characterization of Type I Collagen Fibrillogenesis Using Atomic Force Microscopy. 

Jenfeng (Gene) Li: BS Alumni (May 2018)

Thesis: Finite Element Analysis of Nonlinear Silicon Micro Cantilever-Polymer Systems. 

CJ Ha: BS Alumni (Dec 2017)

Thesis: Investigate the effects of cyanophages on host bacteria and characterize the cyanophages using AFM/AMFM. This study was in collaboration with the Department of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences.

Hatem Brahimi: Postdoctoral Researcher (2017)

Project: Fabrication of microresonators, theoretical and experimental study of nonlinear MEMS.

Noyonika Guin: Undergraduate Intern (Summer 2017)

Project: Investigate the effect of internal resonance in non-linear micro resonators.

Zhi Zhang: BS Alumni (May 2016)

Thesis: Nanoscale Characterization of Bone Tissue Under a Precise Dispacement Control Using Atomic Force Microscopy

Min Ma: BS Alumni (May 2016)

Thesis: Experimental Investigation of Nonlinear Mode Shape in Miroscale Beams